After a vigorous month of matches, the 34th MBA Inter-Firm Team Badminton Championships 2017 ended on the 28th of October. It was another successful year for the McLarens Shuttlers as they emerged Overall Champions once again for the third time. This year there were participants from over 50 companies competing head to head in 8 Divisions. Competing in 12 divisions, McLarens reached podium finishes in 8 of them, stamping their presence to win the coveted overall championship 2017.

This overall win was a result of notable performances from our teams. The Women’s “A” Division, Men’s Veterans “A” Division Team 1, Women’s “B” Division, and Men’s “C” Division were placed champions, Men’s “A” Division Team 1, Men’s Veterans “A” Division Team 2, Men’s “B” Division, Over 40s Women and Men’s Masters became Runners up, Men’s “A” Division Team 2 and Men’s Veterans “C” Division were 3rd place while Women’s “C” Division became 4th place.

Together with team victories, there were individual performances that won recognition as well. Best Player awards were won by Achini Rathnasiri (Women’s A), Himashi Sasinka (Women’s B), Rukshan Pathirana (Men’s C) and Subash De Silva (Veteran’s A) who stood out and played their matches outstandingly well.

We are forever proud of our very remarkable and outstanding players whose determination, commitment and passion for the sport resulted in their hard earned victories and triumphs. The hard work of these young aspiring sports men and women is a testament to the dedication that exists at McLarens.

We would like to take this opportunity to convey our appreciation and gratitude to all team players for driving the company to its victory. We eagerly look forward to their future successes and endeavors.