It has been quite a successful year for the McLarens Shuttlers, making their mark in almost all badminton tournaments they participated in. They ended the year with another grand victory by becoming the Overall Champions at the 34th Mercantile Individual Tournament 2017 with a winning overall score of 56 points. The tournament was held on the 5th – 9th of December 2017 where the McLarens Group was one of the 26 teams that fought their way through. It was their relentless, confidence and determination that led to them playing exceptionally well in the Open, Veterans 40, Veterans 35 and Masters categories.

The McLarens Shuttlers very proudly secured numerous podium finishes which propelled them to victory. Thilini Hendahewa was crowned the Champion for Open Women’s Singles, Crishan Dhanushka became the Runners Up for Open Men’s Singles, Achini Rathnasiri & Thilini Hendahewa finished off as Champions for Open Women’s Doubles, Rajitha Dahanayake & Crishan Dhanushka finished as Runners Up for Open Men’s Doubles, Rajitha Dahanayaka & Achini Rathnasiri was crowned Champions for Open Mixed Doubles, Romesh Samaranayake took the Championship for Over 35 Men’s Singles, Subhash Silva became the Champion for Over 40’s Men’s Singles, Subhash De Silva & Pradeep Welagedera topped off as Champions for Over 40 Men’s Doubles while Niroshan Wijekoon & Rohan De Silva, the McLarens Group Chairman, were crowned Champions for Master’s Doubles Over 50.

We couldn’t be prouder of our McLarens Shuttlers for representing the undying commitment and the eternal passion we as a company have always had in everything we do. These accomplishments and achievements of these remarkable men and women are results of their hard work and dedication to this beautiful sport.
We would like to take this opportunity to convey our appreciation and gratitude to all team players for driving the company to its victory. We eagerly look forward to their future successes and endeavours.